Join us in congratulating our team on their achievements during the last quarter of 2019!

  • Dr. Kennedy Hall has been appointed to a new position of Director of Data Science and Informatics. As the new ED Director of Data Science and Informatics, Dr. Hall will direct and implement data science research core within the Department of Emergency Medicine. This core will provide an accessible framework to support faculty-driven research that leverages the incredible potential of data science and bioinformatics.

  • Dr. Jeremy Hess was appointed Director of the Center for Health and the Global Environment (CHanGE). CHanGE is jointly sponsored by the Departments of Environmental & Occupational Health Sciences and of Global Health. The center’s goals are to advance understanding and management of the human health risks posed by global environmental change. CHanGE has grown to become one of the largest centers worldwide in this field.

  • Dr. Herbie Duber has been selected to receive the 2020 Collaboration Innovation Award from the Institute of Translational Health Sciences.

  • Dr. Herbie Duber has been selected to receive the Global Innovation Fund (GIF) from the Office of Global Affairs. The Global Innovation Fund is a non-profit innovation fund headquartered in London with an office in Washington D.C. that invests in the development, rigorous testing, and scaling of innovations targeted at improving the lives of the world’s poorest people.

  • Dr. Douglas Franzen is the recipient of the 2019 Bruce Gilliand Award for Excellence in Teaching .

  • Dr. Bart Grabman and the ETCO2 Research Team won the Best Overall Research Poster/Presentation at the WWAMI Symposium for Alaska students.

  • Dr. Andy McCoy and Dr. Catherine Counts were accepted as NAEMSP Fellows of the Academy of Emergency Medical Services (FAEMS). FAEMS was established in ​2016 to honor NAEMSP® members who have made special contributions to the Association and the subspecialty of EMS Medicine.  Dr. McCoy  and Dr. Counts are 2 of 276 fellows that have been awarded this designation since it’s inception.

  • Dr. Michael Sayre and Dr. Catherine Counts were awarded the Outstanding Research Mentor Award! Out of over 100 student nominations from around WWAMI, ten mentors were selected by the School of Medicine Scholarship Committee based on exemplary characteristics.

  • Dr. Nick Johnson has been Elected Chair of the ACEP Critical Care Section. This is a 6 year position (2 years as Chair-Elect, 2 years as Chair, and 2 years as Past Chair/ACEP Council Representative) during which Nick will represent the >500 members of the section and oversee clinical policies and white papers, educational content at Scientific Assembly, and interactions 

  • with the various subspecialty boards.

  • Dr. Fiona Gallahue is one of this year’s recipients of the Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award. The Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award honors program directors who find innovative ways to teach residents and to provide quality health care while remaining connected to the initial impulse to care for others in this environment. Parker J. Palmer’s book The Courage to Teach promotes the concept of "living divided no more," which has proven relevant to teaching in academic health centers. The University of Washington School of Medicine has the most Parker J. Palmar awardees of any school of medicine.

  • Dr. Lauren Whiteside was awarded the University of Michigan Emergency Medicine Inaugural Alumni Excellence In Research Award. She was recognized at the U-M Department of Emergency Medicine 20th Anniversary Celebration and Inaugural Alumni and Faculty Award Presentation on the evening of Friday, September 27, 2019.

  • Dr. Amber Sabbatini was awarded an R34 grant from the NIH for her project, “Improving Mental Health Outcomes with the Emergency Department Information Exchange (EDIE): Insights from Washington State”.  Amber was also selected to be a member of the national ACEP Research Committee and Patient Safety & Quality Committee.

  • Jeremy Hess, in collaboration with the Swinomish Tribe, has received a grant:“ Indigenous values-based decision-making for more equitable health outcomes in climate adaptation strategies”.

  • Dr. Douglas Franzen, along with his collaborators, were recently awarded a $10,000 grant from the American Medical Association as part of their Accelerating Change in Medical Education program.